0 item(s) in your cart - $ 0.0

Your cart is empty.

Total Price: $ 0.0


Free Shipping for orders above $ 100 for Limited period, Hurry!

Home > Blogs On Menswear By Manyavar > 9 expressions to celebrate 9 forms of Maa Durga

9 expressions to celebrate 9 forms of Maa Durga

1. Pure and devoted Shailaputri - holding a lotus and a trident. The lotus represents purity and devotion, while the prongs on the trident represent the past, present, and future.

2. Joyous Bramhacharini - holding a rosary in her right hand, representing the special prayers recited in her honor, and a water utensil in her left hand, symbolizing marital bliss. It is believed that she endows happiness, peace, prosperity, and grace upon all devotees who worship her. She is the way to emancipation, called Moksha.

3.    Vigilant Chandraganta - the third manifestation of Durga, representing peace, tranquility, and prosperity in life. Her name is derived from chandra (half moon) in her forehead in the shape of a ghanta (bell). Chandraganta is charming, has a golden bright complexion, and rides a lion. She is all-seeing and ever-vigilant, ready to battle evil in whatever direction it may come from.

4. Ingenious Kushmanda – rosary in one hand and 7 weapons in 7 hands - kamandalu, bow, arrow, a jar of nectar, discus, mace and a lotus.

5. Divine and loving Skandamata - mother to a child named Skanda who was made head of the Army by Durga Maa. Gracious yet powerful.

6. Ready and powerful Katyayani - with wild hair and 18 arms, each clutching a weapon. Born in a fit of divine rage and anger.

7. Fearless as Kalratri - black like night. Her hairs unlocked, her necklaces shining like lightening. She has three eyes which are round like the universe. She rides on Shava (dead body) with a sharp sword in her right hand, blessing her devotees with her left hand.

8. Shining as Mahagauri - as white as a conch, the moon and Jasmine. She is eight years old. Her clothes and ornaments are sparkling white. She has four hands. The left hand is in “Fearless mudra” and her lower left hand holds a “Trishul.” The above right hand has tambourine and lower right hand gives blessings.

9. Mystical as Siddhatri - 9th and final form of Durga. Siddhatri rides a lion. She has four limbs and carries a trident, a Sudarshan Chakra, a conch shell, and a lotus.

Celebration Wear by Mohey, from the house of Manyavar.

Write Your Review